Home » Christian Living » Forgiveness

Forgiveness


Lily of the valley

Lily of the valley (Photo credit: storebukkebruse)

Galatians 5: 22 – 23 [NKJV]22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,23 gentleness, self-control. Against such there is no law. – Verses taken from http://www.biblegateway.com

Loving, forgiving Father in Heaven,

I am struggling to forgive one who has hurt me and slighted me. In return, I have reacted with harsh words, telling myself and others that I have given my enemy a piece of my mind. I don’t know how to regulate my future dealings with them as a Christian because my pride stands in the way. Also, my fear of being hurt keeps me in my shell like a turtle afraid to be exposed and open to attack.

I have wronged You much more than this one person wronged me. Still, You searched for me, found me, forgave me, not keeping back Your own Son! I’m ashamed at my reluctance to forgive. I am truly sorry for being such a weak minded follower.

Father, I need to be filled with Your love, joy, peace, long-suffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control, so that I may not grieve You by withholding the forgiveness You gave me. Thank you for forgiving me, loving me and never giving up on me. Please open my eyes and my heart so that I may see and walk in Your ways. Help me forgive my self and start again, try again and stand again.

Please, hear my prayer and grant my requests through Your son Jesus, my Lord and my Saviour.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

